I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2007 (FIRST) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 147

Introduced by:

James V. Espaldon Ray Tenorio <u>Edward J.B. Calvo</u> R. J. Respicio Frank F. Blas, Jr. Mark Forbes Judith Paulette Guthertz Frank T. Ishizaki J. A. Lujan Tina Rose Muña Barnes A. B. Palacios, Sr. v. c. pangelinan David L.G. Shimizu J. T. Won Pat

Relative to commending and congratulating the Aklan Association of Guam for forty-two (42) years of contributions, service and dedication to our island community and the Province of Aklan, Philippines; and to recognizing the selfless spirit and benevolence of the organization's Members, Officers, Board of Directors and Ex-Officio Advisors.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I* 2 *MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN*:

3 WHEREAS, on April 25, 1956, Philippine President Ramon Masaysay 4 put pen to paper and officially established the province of Aklan with the 5 signing of Republic Act 1414; and WHEREAS, Aklan, originally known as "Minuro it Akean", is
considered to be the oldest province in the Philippines, believed to have been
established as early as 1213 by settlers from Borneo, and is comprised of
seventeen (17) Municipalities that include Altavas, Balete, Banga, Batan,
Buruanga, Ibajay, Kalibo, Lezo, Libicao, Madalag, Makato, Malay, Malinao,
Nabas, New Washington, Numancia and Tangalan; and

7 WHEREAS, Aklan's economy is based primarily on its agricultural 8 offerings, cottage industries, and an emerging aquaculture trade, all spread 9 throughout an estimated land mass of two hundred thousand three hundred 10 ninety-nine (200,399) hectares. The borough of Libacao boasts the largest 11 portion of real estate while Lezo records the smallest. Kalibo is the Capital 12 City; and

WHEREAS, the Aklanons pride themselves on their world-renowned commemoration of the Ati-Atihan, "an incredibly uproarious and hysterical merrymaking" festival, celebrated during the third Sunday of every month in honor of the Santo Nino; and

WHEREAS, the Aklan Association of Guam has kept alive the traditions of its homeland, fostering through the generations the pride of the Ati-Atihan, and have actively encouraged community engagement, civic works and benevolence throughout the island, be it through fundraising for worthy causes or by supporting programs that enhance the quality of life, and the association has seamlessly intertwined the *Hafa Adai* and the *Mabuhay* Spirit with its core offerings since its inception in May of 1965; and

WHEREAS, contributions from the Aklan Association of Guam include
 the annual display of the Ati-Atihan Festivities at venues throughout the

island, including, the Annual Liberation Day Parade, the Guam Visitor 1 Bureau's "Big Summer Festival", donations of Ypao Beach Park Picnic 2 3 Shelters, financial assistance with the Archbishop Felixberto Flores statue in Perezville, Tamuning, wheelchairs to the Guam Memorial Hospital, and 4 financial contributions to non-profit organizations such as: the Alee Shelter, 5 the American Cancer Society, the Guam Lytico and Bodig Association and the 6 American Red Cross, and has provided scholarships to students enrolled at 7 8 the University of Guam; and

9 WHEREAS, currently stewarding the Aklan Association of Guam are
10 the Officers for the 2006 to 2008 term: Bernardita C. Tiberio, President; Rolfe
11 G. Bañes, 1st Vice President; Susan S. Ibit, 2nd Vice President; Evangeline
12 Magdael, Secretary; Jocilyn C. Baja, Assistant Secretary; Aurelio S. Solidum,
13 Treasurer; Gemma F. Conlu, Assistant Treasurer; Marivie M. Luces, Auditor;
14 Aida S. Luces, Business Manager; Patrick S. Luces, Public Relations Officer;
15 and Eustaquio Magdael and Joseph F. Entilla, Peace Officers; and

WHEREAS, ensuring that the Association stays true to its mission and
objectives are Board Members: Marcy C. Andres, Ma. Winsy M. Bañes, Julie
M. Cabales, Jackson T. Doroteo, Erlinda C. Flores, Narciso M. Ibit, Dorothy A.
Igcasenza, Lawrence S. Luces, Lerisa F. Santiago, Presy M. Silvestre, Andrew
T. Solidum, Bernie S. Solidum, Bernard S. Solidum, Mae I Soliva and Necita T.
Torres; and

WHEREAS, those that have provided guidance and wisdom, and have
laid the groundwork for the Association include: Ex-Officio Advisors Juanito
Roldan, Johnny Q. Luces, †Epifania Payba, Nonoy Solidum, Porfirio Payba,

Betty Fortaleza, †Joseph Balidio, Romeo Cabales, Tony S. Luces, Dubel S. M.
 Conlu, Roy S. Adonay and Linda Higa; and

~

WHEREAS, the Aklan Association of Guam family congregates today to celebrate over four (4) decades of existence and to give thanks to our Creator for the blessings bestowed upon the people of the Province of Aklan, and all countrymen of the Philippines and fellow expatriates that have embraced the island and made Guam their home; as well as for the ability to impart offerings to our fellow citizenry; now, therefore, be it

9 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na* 10 *Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the 11 people of Guam, commend and congratulate the Aklan Association of Guam 12 for forty-two (42) years of contributions, service and dedication to our island 13 community and to the Province of Aklan, Philippines; and, be it further

14 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na* 15 *Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the 16 people of Guam, recognize the selfless spirit and benevolence of the 17 organization's Members, Officers, Board of Directors and Ex-Officio Advisors; 18 and, be it further

19 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive 20 Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption 21 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Bernardita C. 22 Tiberio, President of the Aklan Association of Guam; to Juanito Roldan; to 23 Johnny Q. Luces; to †Epifania Payba; to Nonoy Solidum; to Porfirio Payba; to 24 Betty Fortaleza; to †Joseph Balidio; to Romeo Cabales; to Tony S. Luces; to 25 Dubel S. M. Conlu; to Roy S. Adonay; and to Linda Higa, who serve as Ex-

- 1 Officio Advisors; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen
- 2 Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I MINA BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE TH DAY OF NOVEMBER 2007.

EDWARD J.B. CALVO Acting Speaker and Chairman, Executive Committee

RAY TENORIO

Senator and Secretary of the Legislature